Lesley Beals
San Francisco

I'm 50 years old, the divorced mom of two sons (ages 8 and 11) and I work full time in the pharmaceutical industry. In addition to being a lifelong fan of the San Francisco 49ers and Giants, I also breed, raise and show Dalmatians. Of our three dogs, one recently became an AKC Champion and has been invited to the upcoming Eukanuba National Championship.

I'm fortunate to live in the Bay Area, which is rich in music history and opportunities to enjoy live music. I appreciate most styles of music, but my boyfriend Gary and I especially enjoy blues and jam bands. On our first date, we went to a great local venue to listen to blues, and after about our third date, he invited me to go see The Rolling Stones with him. That's when I knew he was the guy for me! Gary has also introduced me to the jam band scene, which he's been a fan of since following The Grateful Dead -- who he saw over a hundred times. I listened to a lot of jazz in the '70s and '80s and I totally missed the Grateful Dead! I really love their music and I've been dubbed a "late blooming flower child." Even now, I own several pieces of tie-dyed clothing. My first rock concert was a "Day on the Green" in 1975 in Oakland, CA, where I saw Chicago and The Beach Boys... and got blistering sunburn!

With my roots in the music-rich Bay Area, I hope that I can bring a "historical" perspective to my reviews. Hey, there's a benefit to being old! Thank you Billboard and LG for this exciting opportunity.

CLICK HERE TO VIEW THIS BLOGGER'S POSTS

© 2010 Billboard. All rights reserved.
Terms Of Use and Privacy Policy.